- advertisement -

5 months in...summer advice?!

Discussion in 'Teens' started by diabetesgrlsxoxo, Jun 13, 2009.

1. diabetesgrlsxoxo

diabetesgrlsxoxo Approved members

Hey everyone my name is Alyssa and I was dx with diabetes on December 31st 2008. So I have only had diabetes for 5 months. :( So I am pretty new at this. I'm 15 and our school just got out. I am super excited for summer vacation...but...at the same time pretty scared. This will be my first summer with D. Do you guys have any advice? Should I carry my meter and everything with me everywhere even if I'm just running around the neighborhood?? I am always running around with friends. Also my doc is switching me to Novlog on Monday (before I used Apidra). Will anything change with that?? Should I talk to my doc about lowering my basal (Lantus) or bolus to make up for running around?!

Basically ANY summertime advice is good. I am on MDI so I dont have to worry about pumps or anything. Thanks SO much!!

Alyssa

2. emm142

emm142 Approved members

Yes, I would take your meter (and definitely, definitely glucose) everywhere. It sucks, but you'll get used to having a bag with you. If I'm just popping out for 5 or 10 minutes and I've only just tested, I will occasionally not bring my meter but I ALWAYS have glucose tabs because lows can hit fast. If I were you I'd just lower the insulin if you start seeing lows, because it's difficult with MDI to know exactly how much to drop it by.

But I've only had 2 summers with this, so I expect there'll be some people who can give you better advice.

3. k.hawkins92

k.hawkins92 Approved members