advertisement
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Can someone walk me through Super Bolus?

Default Can someone walk me through Super Bolus?

I would really like to try the Super Bolus for my son for breakfast...he has been spiking to the 3-400's and since he really loves cereal for breakfast...I'd like to figure out how to handle it.

I just have no idea how to do it! We are fairly new to pumping and I haven't tried any of the advanced features yet.

Adam is pumping Apidra with the Animas Ping. His TDD for basal is about 4 units. Breakfast ratio is 1:25 (although I just lowered it to 1:20 in an attempt to head off his spikes).

Can someone maybe give me a step-by-step on how to do this? Thanks!
    Stephanie

Mom to Adam (6), diagnosed with T1D 8/31/10,
    Pumping Apidra with OmniPod (started 12/11)
    Pumped with Animas Ping for 1 year.
    Dexcom 7 CGMS
    and Sydney (8)

blogging at: www.mylifeasapancreas.blogspot.com

Ok ... I'm no expert by far but we just started with breakfast because of the huge cereal spikes we've seen. I made a full-on Belgian waffle running around 58g CHO for breakfast just today and he never went over 180 and was at 100 2 hours later. I was happy. I was worried that he might go low but it worked - he dipped to around 80ish but I held off and he came back up. I assume that was because of the 2H temp basal off.

I added 2 hours of basal to the corrected bolus and did a temp-off basal for 2 hours. I'm not sure I would go that route for higher fat meals - I might extend a bit.
    Stay at home Dad to son, 13.
    Diagnosed: 02/2006
    OmniPod: 09/2007, Novolog
    Dexcom Seven Plus: 02/2010 Dexcom G4: 01/2013

Throughout history

Every mystery
    EVER solved has turned out to be ...
    Not Magic. - Tim Minchin

Hydrogen, given sufficient time, turns into people. - The Meaning of Life

We do exactly what Swellman did. We tried 3 hours but found we were getting a low in there - so we backed off to 2 hours and it works pretty good.