advertisement

Thread: Talking about alcohol

Default Talking about alcohol

My son is four, and clearly we have years to go before we have this discussion, but b/c I was a college student with T1 once, I am wondering how people currently talk to their kids about alcohol. I don't think my parents said much other than that I shouldn't drink at all, which I didn't follow, and I'm just wondering if things have changed. I imagine I will tell my son that if he is going to drink, to try and do it in moderation and make sure he eats something before bed b/c it is common to go low. Is this the more current approach or are many people trying to preach total abstinence?

Wendy
    T1 33 years, pumping
    4 y.o. son with early onset T1

My approach was exactly what you describe. I imagined that total abstinence was not going to happen (especially since she was in college at the time of dx), so my suggestion was moderation and to BE SURE that appropriate snack was eaten before she went to bed. As far as I know, that is her practice.

Actually, I believe that she discussed this scenario with her endo, who has always been understanding of her "college life" and that he gave her the same guidelines.

I'm sure that your insulin regime must have been different when you were in college than it is for our college age students - it may have been even more difficult to adjust for the alcohol, but I'm not sure.

She says a lot of the time, it is just not worth it, so she ends being the designated driver more than most.

Funny, we just had this discussion today with our DS as we dropped him off to college for his second semester. It is very hard; our kids are growing up. We can always second guess ourselves and our rules and restrictions, but ultimately they have to grow up. We have to lay the foundation,
    support them, and pray that it takes hold.