advertisement

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Profile Posts

1. DiabetesMama
    DiabetesMama
    Thank you for all the info Brenda. Yeah, I am just learning about celiac by reading the forum hear and some of the books I have also include some info on this, I just wanted to take one thing at a time. LOL! I sure hope he doesn't come down with anything else, but I guess none of us would be on this site if we could choose. Well, thanks again and take care. Nice to meet you, Brenda.
  2. Brenda
    Brenda DiabetesMama
    Was looking at your profile to see where you live to see if I might know a therapist there, but I do not. Noticed you said you did not know what celiac is (per your profile). Celiac disease is an allergy to wheat gluten. Another autoimmune disease, it can happen to those with type 1. Make sure your diabetes team does a TTG test (transglutaminase) maybe once a year (every year, every two years--ask them about the frequency of testing). It's just a blood test. If positive, some opt for a confirmatory endoscopy, but that's a pain. I have heard that the blood test is pretty accurate (a positive is a high number--just heard a teen say hers was 800, which is very high). If you are interested, we, CWD, hold an annual conference in July in Orlando Friends for Life), at which we offer free celiac testing. Preliminary info will be on this site in a month. Dates are July 5-10. There should be scholarships through the Diabetes Scholars Foundation (check in Jan) to help pay the conference fee.
  3. Lisa P.
    Lisa P. mmgirls
    Hi, sorry, check in every once in a pretty long while, I don't write on the forum any more, and didn't see you'd left a message until now. We're doing fine, hope you are all doing great, miss you all and thanks so much for checking in!
    Lisa
  4. mmgirls
    mmgirls Lisa P.
    How you doing?
  5. Austins mom
    Austins mom sincity2003