PDA

View Full Version : What do you use to remove adhesive?

chocoholicsc
06-24-2008, 03:29 PM
Tonight is our 2nd site change for Christopher's pump. The last one we did he was very uncomfortable with the removal of the adhesives (we use sure-ts). I asked our pharmacist for something and she said all she has is alcohol wipes, she felt that would be too drying of his skin? Her other suggestion was vitamin E oil. Has anyone tried that? I thought I could have him soak in a long bath and then try the oil to loosen them. What do you guys think? Is there a better way?

Thanks for any help you can give!
Candy:)

coni
06-24-2008, 03:34 PM
Believe me, I am no expert. Our trial sites all fell off with swimming, but after using Skin Tac, I actually had to get something to remove the site this morning. I used a sample of Unisolve and worked it around the edges. It did great; however, it smelled like fingernail polish remover, so I'm wondering if it's the best thing to use on a kid's skin. I'm looking forward to others' responses!

Lee
06-24-2008, 03:36 PM
Unisolve, but then we clean it with soap and water afterwards. When she doesn't, her skin gets sore and red.

Sarah Maddie's Mom
06-24-2008, 03:38 PM
We have been using this stuff for years and honestly, I wouldn't want to change a site without it ;)
http://www.orange-sol.com/medical/index.html

taximom
06-24-2008, 03:55 PM
Unisolve works, but it leaves this sticky goo that you have to wash off.

I use Detachol now and it works great. No sticky goo....just doesn't smell that great. I had to order it online.

Our rep said to use baby oil. I guess it helps if you have nothing else around...but not that great.

Tori's Mom
06-24-2008, 04:12 PM